Frequently asked Rules to Know

Decision 24-2b/16 – Obstruction Interferes But Ball Unplayable Due to Some Other Condition
Q. A player’s ball lies between two exposed tree roots.  The ball is clearly unplayable due to the roots.  An immovable obstruction is so located that it would interfere with the player’s backswing if the player could play the ball.  The player claims he is entitled to relief, without penalty, under Rule 24-2b(i).  Is the player correct?
A. No.  See Exception under Rule 24-2b.  The player must invoke Rule 28.
Decision 27-2a/2 – Provisional Ball Played Solely in Belief Original Ball Might Be in Water Hazard
Q. A player’s tee shot might be in a water hazard, but clearly it is not lost outside a water hazard or out of bounds.  The player announces that, since his ball might be in the hazard, he is going to play a provisional ball and he does so.  Rule 27-2a seems to prohibit a provisional ball in the circumstances.  What is the ruling?
A. The player did not play a provisional ball which, according to the Definition of “Provisional Ball,” is a ball played under Rule 27-2 for a ball which may be lost outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds.  The second ball from the tee was in play since it was not a provisional ball.
Decision 27-2a/2.2 – Possibility That Original Ball Is in Water Hazard May Not Preclude Play of a Provisional Ball
Q. Is it true that, if a player’s original ball may have come to rest in a water hazard, the player is precluded from playing a provisional ball?
A. No. Even though the original ball may be in a water hazard, the player is entitled to play a provisional ball if the original ball might also be lost outside the water hazard or out of bounds. In such a case, if the original ball is found in the water hazard, the provisional ball must be abandoned – Rule 27-2c.

No comments:

Post a Comment